Voices V


Back to Table of Contents

Judie Haynes

President's Message

The Spring 2011 Conference Was a Huge Success!

By Judie Haynes

The NJTESOL/NJBE 2011 Spring Conference was a huge success due to the outstanding work of Cassy Lawrence, the Conference Chair, and David Greer, our Liaison. Both Cassy and Dave were tireless in their efforts to make the transition to a new venue and to provide a quality conference for our members. Thank you also to the Executive Board members who gave of their time and energy. We couldn't run a conference without them. Also, thanks to the New Brunswick Hyatt for the great job that they did.

Judie Haynes with Nancy Cloud Judie Haynes with keynote speaker Nancy Cloud

Each year NJTESOL/NJBE holds a dinner at the Spring Conference. One of the purposes of that dinner is to give awards and scholarships to English language learners. I would like to congratulate all of this year's winners. Our 4th grade writing contest winner, Daniel Rodriques from Linden Public Schools, won a $100 certificate to Barnes & Noble. Pablo Huertas from Trenton Public Schools was our 8th Grade Writing Challenge winner. The prize for this award was a laptop computer. Brenda Ortiz from Jersey City Public Schools was our $1500 High School Scholarship winner. Our $1500 Higher Education Scholarship winner was Urszula Bazydlo-Chaberek who attends Raritan Valley Community College. The winner of the Héctor R. Villafañe Memorial Scholarship for $1000 was Catherin Selgado from the Newark Public Schools. This special award was presented by Joanne Villafañe in memory of her husband Héctor.

This year Elizabeth Claire offered a $500 grant to an ESL teacher who teaches ELLs under difficult conditions. This award went to Caren E. Kalman, an ESL teacher at the Kennedy School in North Bergen. The money will be used to purchase materials or services from any source to improve their teaching situation. Congratulations, Caren!

Each year, NJTESOL/NJBE awards a President's Award and a Leadership Award to outstanding leaders in our field. This year we awarded the President's award to Dr. Joanne Villafañe. Dr. Villafañe was the Director of the Perth Amboy Public Schools Bilingual/ESL Program which was recognized twice by the NJ Department of Education as a Model Second Language Program. Our Leadership Award went to Stan Karp. Karp is currently Director of the Secondary Reform Project for New Jersey's Education Law Center, one of the nation's leading advocacy groups supporting the right of public school children to an equal and excellent education. Stan has done much to help English language learners in New Jersey. Congratulations to the winners of these prestigious awards.

I would also like to thank those Board members whose terms ended this May. Karin Von Riman, Roselle Public Schools, has worked tirelessly for the NJTESOL/NJBE Board for the last 6 years. Marianne Santelli guided our Board through our first Higher Education Mini-Conference. Elizabeth Rielle-Connors was our Special Education SIG Representative, and Christina Namendorf was our Secondary ESL SIG Representative. Thank you for your time and efforts.

This month we welcomed three new members to the Board. Nina Lavado, Princeton Regional Schools and Bucks County Community College, is our new secretary. Gladys V. Scott, William Paterson University, is our new Higher Education SIG Representative, and Claudia Plata, Perth Amboy Public Schools, was appointed as our new Special Education SIG Representative.

In addition to newly-elected members, several Board members were re-elected to their positions or ran for another position. Welcome back to Sandee McHugh-McBride, Karen Nemeth, Caia Schlessinger, Monica Schnee, Tina Kern, Noreen Drucker. Welcome to all of you to the NJTESOL/NJBE Executive Board.

Judie Haynes and Sandee McHugh-McBride Judie Haynes and Sandee McHugh-McBride
Judie Haynes and Tina Kern Judie Haynes and Tina Kern
Judie Haynes and Karin VonRiman Judie Haynes and Karin VonRiman
Judie Hanyes and Marianne Santelli Judie Haynes and Marianne Santelli