Voices Vol 41 No 3

About Us

Mission Statement

NJTESOL/NJBE, Inc. is a not-for-profit professional and educational organization whose purposes are:

1.  To actively support the development of bilingual education and the teaching of English as a Second Language;

2.  To strengthen instruction at all levels;

3.  To disseminate educational information as related to professional development;

4.  To provide educational services such as workshops, conferences, and consulting assistance;

5.  To promote scholarship and foster research in first and second language acquisition and bilingual/bicultural studies; and

6.  To cooperate in appropriate ways with other groups having similar interests and concerns.


2012 — 2013 NJTESOL/NJBE Executive Board

Executive Board 2012

 

President
Cassandra Lawrence
Perth Amboy Public Schools
clawrence@njtesol-njbe.org

Vice President/President-Elect
Sandee McHugh-McBride
Rutgers University
smchughmcbride@njtesol-njbe.org

Past President
Judie Haynes
Consultant: www.everythingESL.net
jhaynes@njtesol-njbe.org        

Secretary
Nina Lavado
Princeton Regional Schools / Bucks County Community College

nlavado@njtesol-njbe.org

Treasurer
Maria Jaume
Clifton Public Schools
mjaume@njtesol-njbe.org

Liaison
Damian Medina
dmedina@njtesol-njbe.org

Historian
Barbara Tedesco
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
North Jersey Field Coordinator/ Instructor NJ EXCEL Program
btedesco@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual/ESL Early Childhood/Pre-K – Kdg. Representative
Monica Schnee
River Edge School District
mschnee@njtesol-njbe.org 

ESL Elementary 1 - 5 Representative
Noreen Drucker  
Randolph Township Public Schools
ndrucker@njtesol-njbe.org 

ESL Middle School 6 - 8 Representative
Tina Kern
Morris School District in Morristown, NJ
tkern@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual Elementary 1 - 8 Representative
Gregory Romero
Carteret School District
gromero@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual Secondary Representative
Yasmin Hernandez-Manno
Newark Public Schools
yhernandez-manno@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Secondary Representative
Caia Schlessinger
Freehold Regional High School District
cschlessinger@njtesol-njbe.org

Higher Education Representative
Gladys V. Scott
William Paterson University
gscott@njtesol-njbe.org

Representative-at-Large
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Adult Education
Regina Postogna
Adjunct Professor at Kean University and Monmouth University C & I Departments
rpostogna@njtesol-njbe.org

Teacher Education Representative
Mary Curran
Rutgers The State University of New Jersey
mcurran@njtesol-njbe.org

Technology Consultant
Marilyn Pongracz     
Bergen Community College
webmaster@njtesol-njbe.org

Parent/Community Representative
Karen Nemeth
Consultant: Language Castle LLC
knemeth@njtesol-njbe.org

Sociopolitical Concerns Representatives
Elizabeth Franks
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
efranks@njtesol-njbe.org

Supervisors’ SIG Representative
JoAnne Negrin
Vineland Public Schools (Cumberland Co.)
jnegrin@njtesol-njbe.org

Special Education
Claudia Plata
cplata@njtesol-njbe.org

Membership Chair
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices Editor
Roselyn Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant:  ESL Unlimited 
rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices Layout Designer
Dawn Marie Arthur

Business Administrator
Gwen Franks
njbeconf@comcast.net


The Hotlist

If you are among the more than 1100 NJTESOL/NJBE members participating in the Hotlist, you know that the Hotlist is communication, networking, problem-solving, and advice at your fingertips. With just a few clicks to open your e-mail, you can find information about state laws and standards, advice, best practices, material searches, testing questions, and advocacy. A sampling of recent topics demonstrates the scope of the subjects under discussion.

hotlist

Resources for High School ELLs
Modified Lessons for Newcomers
CCCS standards vs WIDA standards
English classes for parents of ELL students
Bilingual Program Grades 6-8
Exiting Students
NJ ASK
Higher Ed Materials
Sheltered Math Classes

As an organization, we would like to thank those who regularly provide carefully thought-out, researched replies to the many questions that members pose.  We especially appreciate the answers to questions of state regulations and testing given by Raquel Sinai and Lori Ramella at NJDOE. 

Hosted at Webelists, we have been able to enjoy almost uninterrupted communication for the past year and a half in spite of increased security by members’ e-mail providers.  However, the main cause of blocked messages is due to members reporting them as spam.  For this reason, if you decide that you do not want to participate, do not report messages as spam!  E-mail me at mpongracz@njtesol-njbe.org to be removed from the list.

Please also be careful not to accidently send a message to your spam folder.  If you do, your e-mail will be removed immediately.  I avoid this by using the delete key on my computer rather than the mouse. If you think that this has happened, you can contact me to have your address put back on. 

Thank you.

Marilyn

Marilyn Pongracz is our web-mistress and may be reached at mpongracz@njtesol-njbe.org


Photo from: http://www.freedigitalphotos.net/images/view_photog.php?photogid=1981">Image: suphakit7


Masthead

NJTESOL/NJBE Voices Editorial Board

NJ Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages & NJ Bilingual Educators


Voices WINTER 2013                                                                   Volume 42  No. 1

Editor
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant: ESL Unlimited
           
Layout
Dawn Marie Arthur

Technology
Marilyn Pongracz
Bergen Community College

Membership/Mailings
Gwen Franks
NJTESOL/NJBE Business Administrator

Advertising
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.

Note: Advertising is printed as a service to our membership but does not imply endorsement.

Voices is the quarterly publication of NJTESOL/NJBE printed Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. It is a benefit to members of NJTESOL/NJBE.

For change of address or membership/subscription questions, contact mmber@njtesol-njbe.org


2013 Calendar

SAVE THESE DATES!
These are upcoming national, state, and local events. If you have something to add, send an e-mail to rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org .  Put Voices Calendar in the subject line. Thanks.

JANUARY

FEBRUARY

MARCH

APRIL

MAY

JUNE

Be sure to check our web site http://www.njtesol-njbe.org for any changes in schedules and for additional programs. Click also on Chapter News.