Voices Vol 41 No 3

About Us

Mission Statement

NJTESOL/NJBE, Inc. is a not-for-profit professional and educational organization whose purposes are:

1.  To actively support the development of bilingual education and the teaching of English as a Second Language;

2.  To strengthen instruction at all levels;

3.  To disseminate educational information as related to professional development;

4.  To provide educational services such as workshops, conferences, and consulting assistance;

5.  To promote scholarship and foster research in first and second language acquisition and bilingual/bicultural studies; and

6.  To cooperate in appropriate ways with other groups having similar interests and concerns.


2013 Calendar

SAVE THESE DATES!
These are upcoming national, state, and local events. If you have something to add, send an e-mail to rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org .  Put Voices Calendar in the subject line. Thanks.

2013
NOVEMBER 7-8 NJEA Convention, Atlantic City 2014

2014
MARCH 26-29 TESOL International Convention and English Language Expo; Portland, Oregon

Be sure to check our web site http://www.njtesol-njbe.org for any changes in schedules and for additional programs. Click also on Chapter News.


2013 — 2014 NJTESOL/NJBE Executive Board

Executive Board 2012

 

Executive Board 2013-2014

President
Cassandra Lawrence
Perth Amboy Public Schools
clawrence@njtesol-njbe.org

Vice President/President-Elect
Sandee McHugh-McBride
Rutgers University
smchughmcbride@njtesol-njbe.org

Past President
Judie Haynes
jhaynes@njtesol-njbe.org        
Consultant: www.everythingESL.net

Secretary
Caia Schlessinger
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
cschlessinger@njtesol-njbe.org

Treasurer
Maria Jaume
Clifton Public Schools
mjaume@njtesol-njbe.org

Liaison
Tina Kern
Morris School District in Morristown, NJ
tkern@njtesol-njbe.org

Historian
Barbara Tedesco
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
North Jersey Field Coordinator/ Instructor NJ EXCEL Program
btedesco@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual/ESL Early Childhood/Pre-K – Kdg. Representative
Monica Schnee
River Edge School District
mschnee@njtesol-njbe.org 

ESL Elementary 1 - 5 Representative
Eva Rogozinski
erogozinski@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Middle School 6 - 8 Representative
Noreen Drucker  
Randolph Township Public Schools
ndrucker@njtesol-njbe.org 

Bilingual Elementary 1 - 8 Representative
Gregory A. Romero
Carteret School District
gromero@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual Secondary Representative
Yasmin Hernandez-Manno
Newark Public Schools
yhernandez-manno@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Secondary Representative
Marcella Garavaglia
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
mgaravaglia@njtesol-njbe.org

Higher Education Representative
Howard Pomann
hpomann@njtesol-njbe.org

Representative-at-Large
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Adult Education
Regina Postogna
Adjunct Professor at Kean University and Monmouth University C & I Departments
rpostogna@njtesol-njbe.org

Teacher Education Representative
Mary Curran
Rutgers The State University of New Jersey
mcurran@njtesol-njbe.org

Technology Consultant
Marilyn Pongracz     
Bergen Community College
webmaster@njtesol-njbe.org

Parent/Community Representative
Karen Nemeth
Consultant: Language Castle LLC
knemeth@njtesol-njbe.org

Sociopolitical Concerns Representatives
Elizabeth Franks
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
efranks@njtesol-njbe.org

Supervisors’ SIG Representative
JoAnne Negrin
Vineland Public Schools (Cumberland Co.)
 jnegrin@njtesol-njbe.org

Special Education
Sharon Hollander
Psychologist, Children’s Specialized Hospital, Toms River
 hollander_s@hotmail.com

Membership Chair
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices Editor
Roselyn Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant:  ESL Unlimited 
rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices LayoutDesigner
Dawn Marie Arthur

Business Administrator
Gwen Franks
njbeconf@comcast.net


Masthead

NJTESOL/NJBE Voices Editorial Board

NJ Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages & NJ Bilingual Educators

Voices SUMMER 2013                                                                   Volume 42  No. 3

Editor
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant: ESL Unlimited
           
Layout
Dawn Marie Arthur

Technology
Marilyn Pongracz
Bergen Community College

Membership/Mailings
Gwen Franks
NJTESOL/NJBE Business Administrator

Advertising
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.

Note: Advertising is printed as a service to our membership but does not imply endorsement.

Voices is the quarterly publication of NJTESOL/NJBE printed Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. It is a benefit to members of NJTESOL/NJBE.

For change of address or membership/subscription questions, contact mmber@njtesol-njbe.org