About Us

Mission Statement

NJTESOL/NJBE, Inc. is a not-for-profit professional and educational organization whose purposes are:

  1.  To actively support the development of bilingual education and the teaching of English as a Second Language;
  2.  To strengthen instruction at all levels;
  3.  To disseminate educational information as related to professional development;
  4.  To provide educational services such as workshops, conferences, and consulting assistance;
  5.  To promote scholarship and foster research in first and second language acquisition and bilingual/bicultural studies; and
  6.  To cooperate in appropriate ways with other groups having similar interests and concerns.


2014 Calendar

SAVE THESE DATES!
These are upcoming national, state, and local events. If you have something to add, send an e-mail to rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org .  Put Voices Calendar in the subject line.

2014

OCTOBER 25 NJTESOL/NJBE- Fall Southeast Regional Mini-Conference, Stockton State College: Topic is Assessment.

OCTOBER 31   DEADLINE for Call for Proposals for the 2015 NJTESOL/NJBE Spring Conference (May 27 and May 28): Workshops, Demonstrations, Papers, Seminars, Research and Poster Sessions; Submit on www.njtesol-njbe.org . Contact JoAnne Negrin at jnegrin@njtesol-njbe.org

2015

MARCH 7   NJTESOL/NJBE Spring Southwest Regional Mini-Conference, Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ: Topic is Assessment (Same workshop as October 25 at Stockton.)


MARCH  Date TBA  Bergen-Passaic March Workshop: Topic is Assessment (Same as October 25th  and March 7th  Workshops.)


MAY 27/28  The 2015 NJTESOL/NJBE Spring Conference, Hyatt Regency, New Brunswick, NJ

Be sure to check our web site http://www.njtesol-njbe.org for any changes in schedules and for additional programs. Click also on Chapter News.


2014 — 2015 NJTESOL/NJBE Executive Board

Executive Board

Executive Board 2014-2015

President
Sandee McBride
Rutgers University
smchughmcbride@njtesol-njbe.org

Vice President/President-Elect
JoAnne Negrin
Vineland Public Schools (Cumberland Co.)
 jnegrin@njtesol-njbe.org

Past President
Cassandra Lawrence
Perth Amboy Public Schools
clawrence@njtesol-njbe.org

Secretary
Caia Schlessinger
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
cschlessinger@njtesol-njbe.org

Treasurer
Maria Jaume
Clifton Public Schools
mjaume@njtesol-njbe.org

Business Administrator
Gwen Franks
gfranks@njtesol-njbe.org

Historian
Barbara Tedesco
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
North Jersey Field Coordinator/ Instructor NJ EXCEL Program
btedesco@njtesol-njbe.org

Liaison
Tina Kern
Morris School District in Morristown, NJ
tkern@njtesol-njbe.org

Membership Chair
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Adult Education
Debbie DeBlasio, Department Chair of Languages and ESL// Assistant Professor, ESL
Brookdale Community College, Lincroft, NJ
732-224-2762, ddeblasio@brookdalecc.edu
Personal email: debbiesaddress@gmail.com

Bilingual/ESL Early Childhood/Pre-K – Kdg. Representative
Monica Schnee
River Edge School District
mschnee@njtesol-njbe.org 

Bilingual Elementary 1 - 8 Representative
Gregory A. Romero
Carteret School District
gromero@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual Secondary Representative
Yasmin Hernandez-Manno
Newark Public Schools
yhernandez-manno@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Elementary 1 - 5 Representative
Maryellen Fitzpatrick, NJDOE Regional Achievement Center
mfitzpatrick@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Middle School 6 - 8 Representative
Noreen Drucker  
Randolph Township Public Schools
ndrucker@njtesol-njbe.org 

ESL Secondary Representative
Marcella Garavaglia
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
mgaravaglia@njtesol-njbe.org

Higher Education Representative
Howard Pomann
hpomann@njtesol-njbe.org

Parent/Community Representative
Karen Nemeth
Consultant: Language Castle LLC
knemeth@njtesol-njbe.org

Representative-at-Large
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Sociopolitical Concerns Representative
Elizabeth Franks
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
efranks@njtesol-njbe.org

Social Media Coordinator
Judie Haynes
jhaynes@njtesol-njbe.org         
Consultant: www.everythingESL.net

Special Education
Sharon Hollander
Psychologist, Children’s Specialized Hospital, Toms River
hollander_s@hotmail.com

Supervisors’ SIG Representative
Regina Postogna
Adjunct Professor at Kean University and Monmouth University C & I Departments
rpostogna@njtesol-njbe.org

Teacher Education Representative
Hippolita Hernandez-Sicignano
Jersey City

Technology Consultant
Marilyn Pongracz     
Bergen Community College
webmaster@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices Editor
Roselyn Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant:  ESL Unlimited 
rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices LayoutDesigner
Dawn Marie Arthur

 


Masthead

NJTESOL/NJBE Voices Editorial Board

NJ Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages & NJ Bilingual Educators

Voices SUMMER 2014                                                                   Volume 43  No. 3

Editor
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant: ESL Unlimited
           
Layout
Dawn Marie Arthur

Technology
Marilyn Pongracz
Bergen Community College

Membership/Mailings
Gwen Franks
NJTESOL/NJBE Business Administrator

Advertising
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.

Note: Advertising is printed as a service to our membership but does not imply endorsement.

Voices is the quarterly publication of NJTESOL/NJBE printed Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. It is a benefit to members of NJTESOL/NJBE.

For change of address or membership/subscription questions, contact mmber@njtesol-njbe.org