About Us

Mission Statement

NJTESOL/NJBE, Inc. is a not-for-profit professional and educational organization whose purposes are:

  1.  To actively support the development of bilingual education and the teaching of English as a Second Language;
  2.  To strengthen instruction at all levels;
  3.  To disseminate educational information as related to professional development;
  4.  To provide educational services such as workshops, conferences, and consulting assistance;
  5.  To promote scholarship and foster research in first and second language acquisition and bilingual/bicultural studies; and
  6.  To cooperate in appropriate ways with other groups having similar interests and concerns.


2015 - 2016 Calendar

SAVE THESE DATES!
These are upcoming national, state, and local events. If you have something to add, send an e-mail to rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org .  Put Voices Calendar in the subject line.

2016

March 2-5   45th Annual Conference, Advancing Biliteracy through Global Leadership and Partnerships, Chicago, Illinois

April 5–8   (Tuesday through Friday)  TESOL International Convention and English Language Expo, Reflecting Forward 1966-2016, Baltimore, Maryland, USA. 

Week of May 31 (Actual dates TBA: 3 days ) NJTESOL/NJBE Annual Spring Conference

Be sure to check our web site http://www.njtesol-njbe.org for any changes in schedules and for additional programs. Click also on Chapter News.


2015 — 2016 NJTESOL/NJBE Executive Board

Executive Board

Executive Board 2015-2016

 

President
Sandee McBride
Rutgers University
smchughmcbride@njtesol-njbe.org

Vice President/President-Elect
JoAnne Negrin
Vineland Public Schools(Cumberland Co.)
 jnegrin@njtesol-njbe.org

Past President
Cassandra Lawrence
Perth Amboy Public Schools
clawrence@njtesol-njbe.org

Secretary
Caia Schlessinger
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
cschlessinger@njtesol-njbe.org

Treasurer
Maria Jaume
Clifton Public Schools
mjaume@njtesol-njbe.org

Business Administrator
Gwen Franks
gfranks@njtesol-njbe.org
Historian
Barbara Tedesco
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
North Jersey Field Coordinator/ Instructor NJ EXCEL Program
btedesco@njtesol-njbe.org

Liaison
Tina Kern
Morris School District in Morristown, NJ
tkern@njtesol-njbe.org

Membership Chair
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Adult Education
Debbie DeBlasio, Department Chair of Languages and ESL// Assistant Professor, ESL
Brookdale Community College, Lincroft, NJ
732-224-2762, ddeblasio@brookdalecc.edu
Personal email: debbiesaddress@gmail.com

Bilingual/ESL Early Childhood/Pre-K – Kdg. Representative
Monica Schnee
River Edge School District
mschnee@njtesol-njbe.org 

Bilingual Elementary 1 - 8 Representative
Gregory A. Romero
Carteret School District
gromero@njtesol-njbe.org

Bilingual Secondary Representative
Yasmin Hernandez-Manno
Newark Public Schools
yhernandez-manno@njtesol-njbe.org

Early Childhood Representative
Carole Maurer
ESL Teacher, Ocean City School District
cmaurer@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Elementary 1 - 5 Representative
Maryellen Fitzpatrick
NJDOE Regional Achievement Center
mfitzpatrick@njtesol-njbe.org

ESL Middle School 6 - 8 Representative
Michelle Land
Bilingual/ESL Middle School SIG, Randolph Public Schools
michelleland88@hotmail.com

ESL Secondary Representative
Marcella Garavaglia
Colts Neck High School/Freehold Regional High School District
mgaravaglia@njtesol-njbe.org

Higher Education Representative
Howard Pomann, Director of the Institute for Intensive English, Union County College
hpomann@njtesol-njbe.org

Parent/Community Representative
Angeline Sturgis
K-3 ESL, Lawrence Township, NJ. 
angelinesturgis@gmail.com

Representative-at-Large
Joan Pujol
Dumont Public Schools: Retired
mmbr@njtesol-njbe.org

Sociopolitical Concerns Representative
Elizabeth Franks
Consultant: LLAMAME, LLC
efranks@njtesol-njbe.org

Social Media Coordinator
Judie Haynes
jhaynes@njtesol-njbe.org        
Consultant: www.everythingESL.net

Special Education
Sonya Bertini
Vineland Public Schools
sctb582000@yahoo.com

Supervisors’ SIG Representative
Regina Postogna
Adjunct Professor at Kean University and Monmouth University C & I Departments
rpostogna@njtesol-njbe.org

Teacher Education Representative
Kristi A. Bergman
Director of PALS Rutgers Newark
kristi.bergman@rutgers.edu

Technology Consultant
Marilyn Pongracz     
Bergen Community College
webmaster@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices Editor
Roselyn Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant:  ESL Unlimited 
rrauch@njtesol-njbe.org

Voices LayoutDesigner
Dawn Marie Arthur

 


Masthead

NJTESOL/NJBE Voices Editorial Board

NJ Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages & NJ Bilingual Educators

Voices Summer 2015                                                                  Volume 44  No. 3

Editor
Roselyn Rauch, Ed.D.
Paterson Public Schools: Retired
Consultant: ESL Unlimited
           
Layout
Dawn Marie Arthur

Technology
Marilyn Pongracz
Bergen Community College

Membership/Mailings
Gwen Franks
NJTESOL/NJBE Business Administrator

Advertising
Roselyn O. Rauch, Ed.D.

Note: Advertising is printed as a service to our membership but does not imply endorsement.

Voices is the quarterly publication of NJTESOL/NJBE printed Winter, Spring, Summer, and Fall. It is a benefit to members of NJTESOL/NJBE.

For change of address or membership/subscription questions, contact mmber@njtesol-njbe.org